Good Cereal Made Andy Shardo’s Style

breakfast cerealYes, I’ve been on an oatmeal and smoothie kick, but that doesn’t mean I’ve ignored the simple things. Even though I have discovered a new way to make oatmeal faster in the morning, sometimes I’m craving a big, easy bowl of cold cereal.  Over the years, I’ve tried a lot of different kinds, and I spent a good, long stint eating only Kellogg’s Vanilla Almond cereal for breakfast.  Every day.  Pretty much throughout college.  I moved on to Kashi, but I’m way too high maintenance these days to eat a standard bowl, I guess.  Mostly because I know it can be made better. Cinnamon and banana make pretty much anything better.  It’s  simple to make a basic bowl of Kashi something you’ll want for more than just breakfast.

You will need:

IMG_1080

  • 1 box of Kashi GoLean (or the kind with the grahams in it…super good)
  • 1 box of Kashi GoLean Crunch
  • bananas
  • cinnamon
  • almond milk
  • 1 large storage container with a lid
  • 1 cup measuring cup

When I buy cereal, I buy several boxes at a time and dump as much as I can in storage container with a measuring cup.  This way I don’t have to do that whole fight with the bag and the box and the spilling.  No thanks.

breakfast cereal

Fill half of the container with the GoLean.  Fill the remaining space with the GoLean Crunch.  Put the lid on.  Shake to mix two cereals together.

Slice half of a banana in the bottom of the bowl.  Scoop out a 1-cup serving of the mixed cereal on top of the banana.  Slice the rest of the banana on top.  Fill the bowl with as much almond milk as it will hold (since it only has 30 calories per serving!).  Sprinkle the top with cinnamon.

So much better than the bowl you had yesterday, right?

Leave a Reply

