Cranberry Chicken and Rice: Fail

It sounds really good, doesn’t it?  Yea, I thought so.

It was day three of the eat-only-what’s-in-my-pantry plan, and I found some chicken in the freezer.  I knew that I had read somewhere that you can cook chicken in the crockpot while still frozen.  Just dump it in there.  I was feeling lazy.

I also found a can of cranberries and some brown rice.  Thinking I had also read that you can cook rice in the crockpot the same way–just dump it in–I got lazier.

Chicken Fail

Long story short, I made a ho-hum chicken dinner that tasted as lazy as the effort put into it.  It had great potential when I put it all in the pot.  It looked like it was going to be great!

IMG_0872I even put a frozen corn on top.

IMG_0873

 

I think I let it cook too long.  I have one of those little crockpots that only has and on and off switch.  The chicken was done in a few hours, but the rice needed much longer.  By the time I took it all out at 4 p.m. (about six hours after I turned it on), the chicken was a little dry.  Some of the rice still wasn’t cooked.  Here’s what I dumped in:

  • two chicken breasts
  • 1 cup of brown rice
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 cup of chicken brother
  • 1 can of cranberries
  • 1 ear of corn

It was a fail.  I think I could have made it better if I had cooked the rice by itself, added some spices, and paid it all a little more attention while it was cooking.  So I have two questions for you:

  • What is your biggest cooking fail?
  • How would you have changed that recipe?  What did I do wrong?

 

Leave a Reply

