Peanut Butter Oatmeal

If you like the idea of eating  a bowl of peanut butter, this recipe is for you.

IMG_0846

If you like the idea of eating only what’s left in your pantry, this week of posts is for you.

left in the pantry

Today is the the first full day of clean-out-your-pantry week.  Before I cooked anything, I went through my pantry and threw out things that were severely out of date.  Apparently, there was a time in my life that I thought I was going to make pancakes every day.  I hate throwing away unopened boxes of things, but it is refreshing knowing that everything in there is now edible!

PantryYou might notice that I have enough K-cups to last until the apocalypse.  A friend found them on clearance in a town where K-cups must not be cool.  They are now mine.

In my cleaning out, I found a large box of rolled oats and decided it was time to foray into the world of oatmeal.  I’ve tried it a few times and wasn’t a fan, but I stumbled upon an idea I thought I might actually like.  Here’s what’s in it:

  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 banana
  • 2 tablespoons of peanut butter (I used my homemade peanut butter)
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla flavor
  • 1/2 packet of stevia (optional)

Cook the oats with the 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup almond milk.  Bring the almond milk and water to a boil, then add the oats.  Turn the temperature to medium and cook for five minutes.

oatmeal

oatmeal

While the oats are cooking, use a blender to combine 1/2 banana and the 2 tablespoons of peanut butter.

banana and peanut butter

When the oats finish cooking, add 1/2 cup of the cooked oats to the blender.  Blend the oats, banana, and peanut butter together.

Put the mixture in the blender in a bowl and top with slices of the other 1/2 banana.

peanut butter oatmeal

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Quick Corn Salsa | Andy Shardo's

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal | Andy Shardo's

  3. Pingback: Yes, I Make Brownies So I Can Lick the Bowl | Andy Shardo's

  4. Pingback: Oatmeal Update | Andy Shardo's

Leave a Reply

