Sweet Potato Chips

When I got my food dehydrator, I thought I had the secret to making those perfectly crunchy sweet potato chips I keep seeing on Pinterest.  Actually I already had what I needed to make that snack possible.  The dehydrator is great for a lot of things like dried apples and bananas (and I’m sure a lot of other things i haven’t tried yet), but the oven made these delightful treats:

IMG_0818

 

They taste as pretty as they look. This is all you need to make some yourself:

  • 1 large sweet potato (sliced as thinly as possible)
  • seasoned salt
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • garlic

I used a knife to slice the potato.  It takes a while, but I don’t think my food processor gets them thin enough.  I will have to do some more work on that one.  Toss the sliced potatoes in a tablespoon of olive oil.  Add the salt and the garlic.  Be careful with the salt.  You need less than you think.

Cover as many baking sheets as you can fit in your oven with aluminum foil.  Lay the sweet potatoes in a single layer on the pans.

Here’s the crazy part.  Cook them on 170 degrees for 5-6 hours.  They are done when they are as crunchy as you want them to be.  I got antsy and turned my oven up to 220 for about an hour which didn’t seem to hurt anything.

These chips are awesome.  I just wish I had made more this time.  I’ve eaten most of them already.

 

Leave a Reply

