Andy’s Whole Wheat Bread

I’m not really a creator.  I’m more of a trier.  I woke up this morning and decided I didn’t want to buy bread today–I wanted to make my own.  So I did what all triers do…I looked it up on Pinterest.  There are a million recipes for homemade wheat bread, so I looked for one that seemed easy and contained only ingredients that I had in the house.  I stumbled across this blog and got busy.

Ingredients for Whole Wheat Bread

  • 8 cups of whole wheat flour (Next time, I will make it with spelt flour.  This time, I used half spelt and half wheat.)
  • 4 cups of warmish water
  • 1/3 cup of honey
  • packet of yeast
  • 2 teaspoons of salt
  • 4 tablespoons of butter
  • just a little bit of olive oil

Use a wooden spoon throughout this process.  Apparently that’s important!

  • Put three cups of the water in a big bowl.
  • Put one cup of water in a small bowl and stir in the honey.
  • Add the yeast to the one cup of water/honey mixture.  Let the yeast/water/honey mixture sit for a minute.
  • Add three cups of flour the big bowl with the water in it.flour and water
  • If you see bubbles in the yeast/water/honey mixture, put it in the big bowl with the water and flour.yeast and honey
  • Stir until the lumps are gone.lumps are gone
  • Cover the big bowl with a towel and let the mixture sit for 30 minutes.cover with towels
  • Melt the 4 tablespoons of butter and set aside to cool while the mixture is sitting.melted butterbutter
  • After the thirty minutes, add the butter and salt.
  • Stir everything together.
  • Add the remaining three cups of flour.  I did one cup at a time because it gets tough!
  • Add flour to the counter top.
  • Roll the dough around in the flour on the counter.
  • Knead the dough by folding in into itself.  I did this for about ten minutes.
  • Add flour a little tiny bit at a time.
  • When the dough isn’t sticking anymore, add a little olive oil to the bowl you had the dough in.
  • Put the dough ball back into the bowl and flip it around so the dough covers the whole thing. dough ball
  • Put the bowl with the kneaded dough in a warm area.  I put mine on top of my stove that was on.  Cover with a towel and let sit for an hour.
  • After an hour, the dough should double in size.  Punch it in the middle to let the gas out (hehe).
  • Cut the dough into two balls.
  • Place the two balls in greased loaf pans.
  • Cover them again to let them rise for about thirty minutes.
  • Put them in a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes.
  • Take these little guys out.IMG_0822
  • Do this.eat bread
Leave a Reply

