Brussels Sprouts…what?

(Extensive research has been done to correctly spell and capitalize brussels sprouts.  I definitely learned something today!)

I’ve been seeing brussels sprouts all over Pinterest.  I still get excited when I find out I like a vegetable I once thought I would never eat, so I had to try them.  I bought a big bag of them at Sam’s Club this weekend hoping that they would become a new staple on my menu.  I only made enough for my lunch, so there are a still a lot left.  Here is what you need:

  • 4-5 ounces of brussels sprouts (per person)
  • 1 teaspoon of olive oil (per serving)
  • dash of salt
  • dash of garlic
  • tablespoon of parmesan cheese (per serving)

You have to cut the bottoms off the sprouts and remove any loose leaves.  Then measure about 4 ounces of sprouts.  This was just enough for a side serving.

20140104-161401.jpg

Sprinkle the sprouts with a little olive oil, a bit of salt, and a little garlic if you like garlic.  Cook them in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes.  When there are few minutes left, sprinkle a little parmesan cheese on top and put them back in a for a few minutes.

20140104-161415.jpg

Serve the sprouts with a salad and a peanut butter banana protein smoothie.

Greenest lunch ever.

Leave a Reply

