Banana, Peanut Butter, Spinach, Egg…breakfast

 

One of the things on my 2014 list is to be better about the grains I eat.  I’m going to say that I’m going to totally cut everything but 100% whole wheat, but I did cross a few things off of my traditional grocery list.  The only “bread” item I bought this time was Arnold’s 100% whole wheat bread.  I’ll try making my Sort-of Peanut Butter (waffle) on this instead.  This is what I had for breakfast this morning:

20140103-180906.jpg

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 piece of whole wheat toast
  • 1 tablespoon of homemade peanut butter
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup of spinach
  • dash of salt

Spray the pan with cooking spray.  Saute the spinach in the pan you will use to cook the egg.  Cook until it wilts on medium heat.  While it’s cooking, separate the egg whites, toast the bread, and cut the banana.

Pour the egg whites over the spinach and stir around with a spatula until it’s cooked how you like it.  Spread the peanut butter on the toast and layer the banana on top.  Serve with a small glass of almond milk…and coffee, of course.

You’ll notice the shimmer of the Christmas tree is gone.  Time for real life.

Leave a Reply

