New Year List Item: Lifting Weights

One of the things on my 2014 List is to do more strength training.  When I was in Anderson over the Christmas break, my brother and I did a workout together.  He made this plan for me to get started.  It’s pretty solid.

Daniel’s Arm, Back, and Shoulder Workout

On a 30 degree Incline Bench:

3 sets of 10-12 Chest Press with 15 pound dumbbell

3 sets of 10-12 Chest Flies with 10-15 pound dumbbell

On the Smith Machine:

3 sets of 20 shoulder shrugs with just bar weight

3 sets of 12 squats with 50 pounds

On the Cable Weights Machine:

3 sets of 15-20 with long chest bar (pull behind head)

3 sets of 10-12 with rope pull (light weight)

In between sets, I get restless.  I suggest doing something to keep your heart rate up.  When I’m with someone, I jump around and do jumping jacks with weights.   In my mind, it looks less dumb when I’m with a person–probably looks ridiculous regardless.  I will follow up with a suggestion for that part after I do it by myself!

Happy Lifting!

One thought on “New Year List Item: Lifting Weights

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Protein Smoothie | Andy Shardo's

Leave a Reply

