A Snack, a Walk, and a Weird Look

Yesterday, I made the trek back to Myrtle Beach.  It’s nice to be back, but I already miss my family.

Along the way, I stopped at Tropical Smoothie Cafe and had a Hawaiian Breeze Smoothie.  It held me over for a couple of hours.  By the time I got to this little tiny town called Turbeville, I was starving.  I had to get resourceful..

There are about two stores in Turbeville–a Family Dollar and an IGA grocery store.  It was time for me to get out and walk around for a second, so I walked into the store and straight to the produce section.  When I found the biggest, reddest apple I could, I made the awkward approach to the cashier who said “This all you want?”  Yes.  It is.

Usually I pack a kindergartener-style snack box full of apples when I travel anywhere.  I’m not sure why I didn’t this time.  Apples are my driving food.

So here’s your healthy tip today.  If you get hungry while traveling, find a grocery store.  You’ll get a snack, a walk, and maybe even an entertaining weird look.  Then you can nod your head to yourself–“Yeah, I eat apples.”

Apples on the road

Leave a Reply

