Those Little Pizza Balls

Well, that’s what we called them.

Apparently, the enchiladas I made last night weren’t a crowd favorite.  My brother and I liked them, but others seemed to think they were “eh.”  I had to redeem myself.

My mom made a salad with spinach, lettuce, eggs, onions, and cheese.  The main dish was pizza balls.  They contained:

  • 2 cans of reduced-fat crescent rolls
  • 1 small jar of pizza sauce
  • 1 package of turkey pepperonis
  • 2 cups of mozzarella cheese

Roll out the crescent rolls into a flat sheet.  Pinch the edges of the dough together the best you can and cover  with the pizza sauce.

20131230-185856.jpg

Sprinkle about half of the cheese on top of the sauce.  Put another layer of sauce on top of the cheese.  Add the rest of the cheese.  Cover the top with pepperonis.  I used a little leftover cheddar cheese too.

crescent roll pizza

As carefully as you can, roll up the crescent roll dough.  You may need to continue pinching the dough to keep it together.  It’s fine for there to be some open seams.

pizza balls

Slice the roll into 1-1/2 inch pieces.  Place the pieces in a muffin pan.  This made eleven rolls for me.  I put a pepperoni on top of each.

pizza balls

Cook in a 375 degree oven for 18-20 minutes.  Just don’t let the crescent roll part get too brown.

dad wil pizza ballsI redeemed myself.

Leave a Reply

