Rolling the Final Credits on Christmas

Colorful Post-Christmas Mess

This will make you feel better about whether or not your “house is a mess.”  When I am at home, everything has to be where it belongs or I can’t function.  On vacation, all bets are off.  The only plus is that a lot of my stuff is in bright colors so the mess becomes its own decoration. Bleh, bleh, bleh…it’s a wreck and starting to drive me nuts.christmas mess

Fun with (ridiculous and grammatically disastrous) Signs

I have a few fun photos from Anderson adventures today.  First, I’ve been working out at Gold’s Gym since I’ve been here.  During my first visit, I walked quickly out of the women’s locker room and thought I saw something odd on a sign, but then I thought there was no way it really said that.  Today, I saw it again.  I was right.  I really says that.

no boys in the girls bathroom

…and that’s not to mention lack of apostrophe! Also, just noticed the creation of the gigantic word “lockerroom.”  I guess that extra space would have just taken too much out of them.

Next, this little sign caught my eye at the mall.  Lynna stole the apostrophe from the bathroom sign, I guess.

luxuries' by lynna

One Last Christmas Dinner

On a serious note, I finished up my Christmas festivities tonight with a trip to my Aunt Johnnye’s house.  She’s a phenomenal cook.  As she was making final preparations, she pulled out a recipe handwritten by my great grandmother who was known around town for her fantastic cooking.  This is the recipe for her dressing which I will try to post soon.  There are no fruits or vegetables in this one!

dressing recipeMy great grandmother passed away when I was in the second grade, but I remember her cooking.  Actually, the thing I remember most about staying at her house was that she would let me use the microwave all by myself.  I thought I was a big thing for that.  Apparently, she had a cooking problem that I share–she didn’t like following recipes.  She cooked with a lot of “ish” measurements and “hmmm, I think I’ll throw in this.”  Love.

Once again, my family sat around the table to share stories, laugh, and eat.  I wish I could say I cooked this goodness, but I didn’t.

prime rib

The food was fantastic and made me a little sad at the thought of the little awkward time period after Christmas when the glitter and ho-ho-ho is still on the mind.  Eventually things return to normal, but Christmas is nearly over.  I’m starting to work on my list of things I want/need to do as the new year begins.  I don’t typically do resolutions; I just make a list of things I’d like to be able to say I tried by the end of the next year.  It helps with the post-Christmas transition period.  So, what do you do as Christmas ends avoid to that cheer hangover?  Please leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

