Slow-Cooker Breakfast Casserole Part II

Last night, my mom and I put together the slow-cooker breakfast casserole.  It was filled with cheese, hash browns, and Christmas goodness.  My mom is a bit more of a recipe follower than I am, but I have some ideas for how to spice this thing up a bit.  It was good, but it needed a little something extra.  I hope to make a healthier version soon!  Here is what we used:

  • 1 lb. of ground sausage
  • 16 oz. shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 26-ish oz. bag of hash browns
  • 1 cup milk
  • 12 eggs (If I did this again, I would use half egg whites and half whole eggs.)
  • 2 tablespoon ground mustard
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Here are the things I suggest adding:

  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 bell peppers
  • 1/2 salsa
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 2 cups spinach

Literally dump everything in a crock pot and cook for 7 hours on low.

It was a very filling brunch.  Definitely a Christmas treat!

breakfast casserole

Slow-cooker Breakfast Casserole

family eating breakfast casserole

One thought on “Slow-Cooker Breakfast Casserole Part II

  1. Pingback: Christmas Night and The Fursdy after Christmas | Andy Shardo's

Leave a Reply

