Sweet Potato Smoothie

I know it sounds weird, but the sweet potato really just adds texture and some healthiness.

Growing a bit tired of my standard peanut butter waffle , I realized it’s been a while since I made a smoothie for breakfast.  When it was warm outside, I had a smoothie for breakfast almost every morning, but they make me so cold.  I just couldn’t stand it when the temperature started to drop.  Since the morning temperature today was in the mid-sixties, it seemed like a good day for a smoothie.  Here’s what I used:

  • 1 1/2 cups of almond milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 2 cups of spinach
  • half of a baked sweet potato (just scoop out the inside…no skin!)
  • 2 tablespoons of PB2
  • 2 tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 2 table spoons of vanilla flavor
  • 8-10 ice cubes

Put the almond milk and the spinach in a blender and mix until combined.  Dump the rest of the ingredients in the blender and blend away.  It filled my 24 oz. Tervis cup.  I accompanied the smoothie with a large cup of coffee to maintain my body temperature.  It was a good morning.

Sweet Potato Smoothie

 

One thought on “Sweet Potato Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Pineapple and Kale Smoothie | Andy Shardo's

Leave a Reply

