Not quite as good as Chipotle…but close!

Here’s a workout to try.  Spend 30-45 minutes on the cardio equipment of your choice.  After the cardio, do 15 minutes of my whatever-you-can-think-of routine.  Basically, set a timer for 15 minutes and change your exercise each minute.  Do push-ups, sit-ups, squats, bicep curls.  JUST KEEP MOVING!

Today, I tried something new. I spent about five minutes rotating in what I will start calling the circle of death.

  1. 20 sit-ups
  2. 10 hip dips on the right side
  3. 5 push-ups
  4. 10 hip dips on the left side

I just went in a circle without resting in between.  It was awesome/awful.  I received a text from a  friend during the process asking what I was doing.  Usually, I don’t take my phone in the gym, but I had it today.  Instead of answering, I sent a picture.  This is how awful/awesome it was:

IMG_0291

When I left the gym, I had to make a Christmas gift run, so by the time I made it back home I was nauseatingly hungry.  I almost stopped at Chipotle on my way home, but then decided I could make my own  salad at home.  By the time I walked in the door, I already had it planned out.  I used:

  • the leftover rotisserie chicken
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 green pepper
  • cumin
  • garlic salt
  • lettuce
  • spinach
  • 1/2 cup of canned corn
  • 1/2 cup of black beans
  • 1 tablespoon of sour cream

Put the tomatoes, onion, pepper, cumin, and garlic salt in the food processor and use the pulse button to chop.  I did this because, for some reason, the jar salsa just didn’t sound good to me.  At Chipotle, they always spoon out the pico.  I really like that, so I made my own version.

Homemade Pico

Heat the chicken, the beans, and the corn in the microwave.  Fill a bowl with all the lettuce and spinach you want.

IMG_0295

Top the spinach and lettuce with a few spoonfuls of the salsa mixture.

IMG_0298

Spoon on the beans, corn and chicken and put the sour cream on top!

IMG_0299

Mix it all together.  Take that Chipotle!

Mexican Salad (Chipotle Style)

2 thoughts on “Not quite as good as Chipotle…but close!

Leave a Reply

