Feliz Navidad!

One of my favorite meals that my mom made me when I lived at home was chicken enchiladas.  I’ve made a hundred different variations of them myself, but this is how I did it last night.  For these festive little guys, you will need:

  • a package of read deal corn tortillas (I buy mine at Sams.  They are in the same section with the bread and bagels.  All the writing on them is in Spanish.  That’s how you know they are the good ones.)
  • a rotisserie chicken
  • salsa
  • sour cream (to dollop on top– a little dab’ll do ya)
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoon of cumin
  • 1 tablespoon of garlic
  • a few shakes of seasoned salt

Shred about half of the rotisserie chicken.  I use my Kitchenaid mixer.  It works perfectly if you set it on low for a few minutes.   Top the shredded chicken with about 3/4 of salsa.  I used the pineapple salsa again.  It’s my fav.  Add the 1/2 cup of plain yogurt, cumin, garlic, and salt.  Mix or stir together.

Shred Chicken in the Mixer!

 

Put a thin layer of salsa on the bottom of a small casserole dish.  Fill the tortillas with the mixture and stuff them in the dish.  Fit as many as you can! Cover the enchiladas with salsa.  You can add cheese to the top if you want.  I didn’t, and I didn’t miss the cheese at all.  The greek yogurt makes the mixture very rich.  Cook the enchiladas in a 400 degree oven for about 25-30 minutes.  When you take it out, just check the center to make sure it is as hot as you like.  You’re really just warming it up.

When you scoop the enchiladas out of the pan, top with sour cream.  OMG!

IMG_0264I ate mine with a salad topped with some very large carrots I had to cut up.  It was delish.

carrots

 

…and the greatest part of all…there was enough left for lunches!

IMG_0266

 

The only thing that would have made it better would have been some onion…which I had…I just didn’t think about it.  I’ll have to try that next time.  It’s quick, easy, and so good.  By leaving out the cheese, I saved a ton of calories.  This is a very low fat, low calorie meal that I can’t feel guilty about it all.  And it’s pretty.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Feliz Navidad!

  1. Pingback: Chicken Enchilada Casserole (with magic sauce) | Andy Shardo's

Leave a Reply

