Coloring, lighting, and appreciating the little things

The last few days I have been busy with Christmas gatherings and shopping, so I’ve been eating out a lot more.  My current favorite out-to-eat place is Chipotle.  All their ingredients are fresh and the meat is quality.  I always get the salad and build it up as much as possible.  Salsa is my dressing, and I use the sour cream I get on the side as sparingly as possible.

I’ve cooked a few things at home, though.  All have been simple, tasty things with few ingredients–and little clean up.  Last night I made a sweet potato from that huge batch I got last weekend.  All I needed was:

  • 1 large sweet potato
  • 1 tablespoon of light sour cream
  • seasoned salt

I returned home from shopping about 5:45 and heated my oven to 415 degrees, poked a few holes in the potato, placed a piece of aluminum foil on the center rack of the oven, and put the potato on top.  I came home about 6:15, and this was the perfect amount of time for cooking.  I was very thankful for the aluminum foil as the potato had created quite a blackened sugar bubble.  So glad I didn’t have to clean that up!  I opened up the potato, mixed in the sour cream, sprinkled the salt, poured a glass of wine, and YUM!

IMG_0216

Sweet Potato Dinner

I pretty much love this time of year.  Everything is so brightly colored, and even things that aren’t usually that exciting are way more fun at Christmas.  I hate crowded places, and right now, the mall is like an ant hill; however, I love going to the mall at Christmas.  I’m also a really big fan of my Christmas tree.  I wrapped a few presents last night and was kind of enchanted by all the colors.  This is definitely my best tree.

Christmas Tree

This morning, after waking up much later than I typically do, I enjoyed my morning cup of coffee.  Kohl’s sent me one of those great “$10 dollars off any purchase” cards this week, so I bought a box of my favorite Keurig coffee–Gloria Jean’s Butter Toffee.  It only cost me $4!  After looking at the Target weekly add and scanning some pins, I made this wonderful breakfast sandwich.  All you need is:

  • 1 English Muffin (I of course, used the Thomas Light ones)
  • A few thin slices of mozzarella cheese
  • 1 tablespoon of pineapple salsa (I use the Archer Farms salsa from Target.  My family loves it!)
  • 2 egg whites
  • Dash of garlic
  • Dash of seasoned salt

Slice the cheese and place it on the muffin halves on a piece of aluminum foil.  Top one half of the muffin with the salsa.

 IMG_0224IMG_0225IMG_0227

Put the muffins on the foil in the oven on the top rack under the broiler.  WATCH CAREFULLY because it won’t take long for the cheese to melt and the muffins to toast.

IMG_0231

While that’s going on, mix the egg whites, garlic and salt and fry in a small pan.

IMG_0226

When you take the muffins out, you will have this colorful creation.

IMG_0235

Now, sit and enjoy this cafe-worthy little breakfast.  As always, you can add anything you want to this sandwich.  This was inspired by a breakfast I had at Einstein Bagels last year.  They make something similar, but add green chilies to it.  Sounds weird, but I promise it’s good!  Onion, spinach, and even cream cheese would add a little variety to this sandwich to make it something you can enjoy every morning!

Salsa McMuffin

After breakfast, I added a little splash of color to my living room.  I found an afghan my mom made a few years ago in a box upstairs.  It’s a crime that it has been hidden all this time, and it might be my favorite part of the living room decor.  This room is finally shaping up to be exactly how I imagined it.  I still need to do a little work on the wall like adding a photo collage or something, but all the colors make me happy.  I will have a hard time taking down Christmas decorations because it all looks so great together.

IMG_0243

The rest of my Sunday will include a trip to the gym, shopping for our school’s Angel Tree, and enchiladas for dinner.  Enjoy this time of year.  Eat well, stay active, and send me pictures of your christmas!

IMG_0245 IMG_0244

2 thoughts on “Coloring, lighting, and appreciating the little things

  1. Pingback: Feliz Navidad! | Andy Shardo's

  2. Pingback: (Tasty) Turkey Burger and Sweet Potato Family Dinner | Andy Shardo's

Leave a Reply

