All I wanted was my little fake McMuffin’

This morning, I made arrangements with three great kids in my seventh block class to come in early and type their research papers.  I knew I needed to leave my house at 7:00 a.m.  It takes me exactly fifteen minutes from door to door.  Knowing I would make my little eager beavers wait, at 6:50 a.m., I started cooking my breakfast.

One of my standard grocery list items is Thomas’ Multi-Grain Low-Fat English Muffins.  They work great not only as a go-to breakfast item, but I also use them instead of a bun when I make turkey burgers and veggie burgers.  I always buy them at Sams Club because I can get a nine-pack for the same or less than I can get the six-pack at Target.

IMG_0182

To make the open-face egg white muffin that kept my boys from their projects, you will need the following:

  • 3 egg whites (On the weekends, I separate my egg whites into small containers so I don’t have to deal with it during the week.  It takes a while)
  • 1 and 1/2 cups of spinach
  • Dash of garlic
  • Dash of salt
  • 1 slice of reduced-fat provolone cheese
  • 1 Thomas’ Multi-Grain English Muffin

Cook the spinach in a greased pan on medium-high heat until the spinach wilts.  Salt the spinach and add as much garlic as you like.  Put the egg whites in a bowl and add the cooked spinach to the bowl when it is cooked.  Use a fork to mix the spinach with the egg whites and pour the mixture back into the pan.  I usually do another quick spray on the pan so it doesn’t stick.

Sometimes, I add other things to the eggs.  Onions, peppers, tomatoes, and ham are nice additions.

While the egg is cooking, put the English Muffin in the toaster.

Use a spatula to lift the edges of the egg after a couple of minutes of cooking.  If it stays together, it’s time to flip.

Homemade Egg McMuffin

Place the slice of cheese on top.  Fold the egg in half.  Let it cook for a minute and flip the folded over.  When you are satisfied with the brownness, use the spatula to cut the egg in half.  Place a half on each side of the English Muffin.  I like to eat the open-faced because it feels like more food.  If you’re in a hurry, make it into a sandwich and GO!

IMG_0187

When I finally arrived at my classroom door, my boys were waiting patiently.  I confessed that I was a horrible teacher and that all I wanted was my “little Egg McMuffin.”  They denied my claims of ineptitude and got to work.  I don’t think they were too mad.  These kids are champs for coming in so early.

IMG_0189

My butternut squash soup served as an excellent lunch despite my distaste for leftovers–and saved a little room for the Mexican food I ate for dinner.  I’m a sucker for tortilla chips, salsa, and good conversation.

Tonight, I will leave with my favorite moment of the day.  Here is a side-by-side comparison of the 1970’s-ish selfie my mom took despite my grandmother’s claim that she “didn’t understand why anyone would want to do that.”  I’m surely glad she did.

  IMG_0192IMG_0985

Love you, mom!

One thought on “All I wanted was my little fake McMuffin’

  1. Pingback: Andy Shardo's

Leave a Reply

