I might turn orange…or into a christmas tree

Tonight, I put up my second Christmas tree.  Target had a six-foot tree on sale this week, so I upgraded my living room tree and put my old, four-foot tree in my bedroom.  I covered it in pink lights and glittery teal christmas decorations.  It’s simple but adds some nice color to my bedroom for the season.

pink lights

Teal Ornaments

IMG_0170

Whoever decided it was nice and fun and reasonable to require an innocent ornament purchaser to tie little tiny strings on all fifty ornaments is seriously demented.  It took me forever.  Well, only half of forever because I quit about half way through the box.  It’s a small tree.

IMG_0177

Today was day three of eating through that massive amount of sweet potatoes and butternut squash, but I don’t mind at all.  I could eat foods I love over and over and not get tired of them for a while, but I might turn orange in the process.

Despite all that, I don’t care for leftovers.

I do, however, love making something different with food I cooked earlier.  Yesterday, I cooked an extra butternut squash with a plan in mind.  I follow a blog by Taralyn McNitt who posted a recipe for butternut squash soup.  I pretty much followed her recipe but added a few little twists of my own.

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1-2 teaspoons of garlic (I used way more because I really like garlic, but even I was a little overwhelmed.  This should be just enough.)
  • 1 smallish onion
  • 2 cups of chicken broth
  • a few dashes of seasoned salt (to taste)
  • 5 turns on the pepper grinder
  • 1 tablespoon of parsley
  • 2 tablespoons of plain greek yogurt.
  • 1 slice of reduced fat cheese of your choice

Dump it all in the food processor except one tablespoon of greek yogurt and the cheese. (I can’t say enough about the small Kitchenaid Food Processor.  I use it ALL the time.  I’ll post some tips on where to find it super cheap later!)  
IMG_0157

Process it until smooth.  This will make a thin mashed potato consistency.  If you want it more like soup, add more chicken broth.  I liked it just like this!

IMG_0160Put the soup mixture in a pot on the stove.  Heat on low, stirring often.  When it’s hot enough for you, spoon it into a bowl, top with the cheese slice and the remaining dollop of greek yogurt.  Stir the yogurt into the soup.

IMG_0162It’s pretty much awesome.

What does your Christmas tree look like?  Send me pictures!

One thought on “I might turn orange…or into a christmas tree

  1. Pingback: Something to do with those Christmas Lights | Andy Shardo's

Leave a Reply

