Oh butternut squash, oh butternut squash

I had the best intentions of being home tonight before seven to start some delectable butternut squash creation.  I was thinking stuffed butternut squash or butternut soup.  Those kinds of things.  Unfortunately, when I walked in the door at 7:15, I had to resort to a faster plan…because I was starving.

My workout tonight was intervals on the elliptical.  Basically, I go  fast and then I go slower until I can breathe like a normal person and then I go fast again.  This went on for 45 minutes.  After that, I did 15 minutes of strength by setting a timer on my iPod for 15 minutes and doing whatever Jillian Michaels-esque moves could think of for 1-2 minutes each.  I’m always voraciously hungry after this workout.

So I threw down my bags (I feel like I always have at least three bags I’m toting around at one time), and got to work.  Over the weekend, I got a LOT of sweet potatoes and butternut squash.  I set the oven to 400 and started cutting.  Tonight I cooked:

  • 2 butternut squash
  • 2 sweet potatoes (which will be eaten with a little greek yogurt and salt on top for lunch this week)

I cut one butternut squash in half, scooped out the seeds, salted it,  and placed the halves face down on a pan covered in pam-sprayed aluminum foil. I washed the two sweet potatoes, stabbed a fork in them a few times, and put them on the pan with the squash. These ended up cooking for about 45 minutes.

Butternut Squash

The other butternut squash I cut into fries (my favorite food ever).  I sprayed the pan with cooking spray and placed the fries on the pan.  They cooked for about 15 minutes minutes before I flipped them.  They cooked about 20 more minutes…just until they started getting a little crispy edges. I haven’t been able to get these fries to have a completely crispy outside.  They are always a little softer than “normal” fries, but with a little seasoned salt on top, they are a welcomed substitute for greasy, fatty french fries.  I’ve done this same procedure with sweet potatoes, but I really like the butternut squash best.

Butternut Squash Fries

 

I served my fries with a simple salad.  I even made a dip for the fries.  Mix together the following in a small bowl.

  • a tablespoon of ranch (I used Wish Bone Light Buffalo Ranch.  So good.)
  • A squirt of dijon mustard
  • A squirt of honey
  • a tablespoon of greek yogurt

Dinner done.
Butternut Squash Fries

Leave a Reply

