Spaghetti Squash Lasagna and the Christmas Tree

20131130-222859.jpg

My plan to put of the Christmas tree didn’t go exactly as I planned because I had to buy new lights…ended up with a whole new tree. So, after a trip to target and a few minutes with Jillian, I started my dinner.

Tonight for dinner, I cooked a spaghetti squash I bought a few weeks ago. Spaghetti squash is great because it acts like spaghetti noodles after roasting for about thirty minutes. My spaghetti squash lasagna was cooked in several stages, and I used shredded chicken instead of ground beef…mostly because that is what I had. I think the flavor would have been richer with ground turkey or beef. I cooked the chicken and the spaghetti squash at 400 degrees for about thirty minutes.

20131130-223255.jpg

In my food processor, I chopped a whole onion, garlic powder, garlic salt, a can of Italian tomatoes, a half cup of tomato paste, a little balsamic vinegar, basil, and literally any Italian-ish ingredients I could put into the mixture. I heated the sauce on low while the chicken and squash cooked.

20131130-223606.jpg

I used my Kitchenaid mixer to shred the cooked chicken. Works wonders. I put about a quarter of a cup of ricotta in each half of the spaghetti squash and lined them with spinach leaves

   20131130-224304.jpg   20131130-224315.jpg

I piled on a few layers of the shredded chicken and simmering sauce. You can put a layer of cheese on top, but I didn’t to save a few calories. I popped the squash back into the oven for about ten minutes.

Scoop out the goodness and enjoy!

20131130-224627.jpg    20131130-224637.jpg

Leave a Reply

